Portals under review.

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Portals under review.

Post by Dexter on Wed Feb 10, 2016 10:41 am

Hello everyone,
as you might have noticed, some of the forum parts are currently down due to their maintenance. I would like to ask all of you for any interesting BVE related links you might have in store. Some of the sites we had in links do not work anymore, some others have emerged. Please let me know which site should not be missing in your opinion.
Also, I would like to ask you what content would you like to have in the Knowledge base. If there is anything you don't understand, feel free to ask.
Thanks! Cool
avatar
Dexter

Posts : 1842
Join date : 2011-07-08
Age : 31
Location : Brno, Czech republic

http://www.brnobve.eu

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by Dexter on Thu Feb 11, 2016 6:12 am

The Portal is back online, thanks to graymac imaging for their graphical contribution. Smile 
No links or anything received so far...
avatar
Dexter

Posts : 1842
Join date : 2011-07-08
Age : 31
Location : Brno, Czech republic

http://www.brnobve.eu

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by graymac on Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:15 pm

This should be in the "links" :   http://openbve.wix.com/openbve
avatar
graymac

Posts : 1744
Join date : 2011-08-28
Location : Co Mayo, Eire

http://www.celtictrainsim.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by Dexter on Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:16 pm

graymac wrote:This should be in the "links" :   http://openbve.wix.com/openbve

Agreed. Smile I do have my own list, but there might be pages that I do not know / haven't had an opportunity to look at, that is why I am asking everyone to contribute. Smile
avatar
Dexter

Posts : 1842
Join date : 2011-07-08
Age : 31
Location : Brno, Czech republic

http://www.brnobve.eu

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by MattD6R on Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:18 pm

I can't view the links and knowledge base at the moment as it goes to the forum page instead. I am not aware of any sites that are not already known though they might not be listed. Here there a couple of very old Aussie routes that might still be available that I doubt that would be of interest. I think a link to where the program can be obtained could be helpful for newbies. For the links that disappeared maybe a link to archive.org could be used if available or a new website elsewhere. I particularly thinking of Dennis's route building tutorial but when I used it was not available but was available on archive.org.

MattD6R

Posts : 251
Join date : 2013-06-16
Location : Brisbane, Australia

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by Dexter on Fri Feb 12, 2016 6:29 am

Yes, it says in the scrolling announcement that Links and Knowledge Base are unavailable. Smile
I will take any link, it is better to have some twice than to have none. Wink
avatar
Dexter

Posts : 1842
Join date : 2011-07-08
Age : 31
Location : Brno, Czech republic

http://www.brnobve.eu

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by MattD6R on Fri Feb 12, 2016 10:12 am

With the links and knowledge base not available I not sure what links that are already listed. Or are you starting over again for these pages and you after any links that should be included which I would not mind providing. If you are interested with any routes over here I can find those links and provide them. But note that these routes are from BVE2 or possibly BVE4 time period.

MattD6R

Posts : 251
Join date : 2013-06-16
Location : Brisbane, Australia

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by Dexter on Fri Feb 12, 2016 11:27 am

You can give me any working links. Smile The thing is half of the links presented is not alive anyway... send me a pm with the links you have and we'll see what we can do. Very Happy
avatar
Dexter

Posts : 1842
Join date : 2011-07-08
Age : 31
Location : Brno, Czech republic

http://www.brnobve.eu

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by MattD6R on Fri Feb 12, 2016 12:19 pm

Yes I will send you a PM with some links when I get a chance, possibly tomorrow.

MattD6R

Posts : 251
Join date : 2013-06-16
Location : Brisbane, Australia

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by Dexter on Sat Feb 13, 2016 5:47 am

That|s OK with me, I will be trying to get the Links and Knowledge base back online on Sunday or Monday.
avatar
Dexter

Posts : 1842
Join date : 2011-07-08
Age : 31
Location : Brno, Czech republic

http://www.brnobve.eu

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by Dexter on Thu Feb 18, 2016 4:02 am

Hello everyone,

the links are finally back online, the Knowledge base will require some more time and some material to be written. Anything in particular that you guys are interested in?
avatar
Dexter

Posts : 1842
Join date : 2011-07-08
Age : 31
Location : Brno, Czech republic

http://www.brnobve.eu

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by MattD6R on Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:57 am

There aren't that many guides available. The only one's I have used or know about are in the links I sent you. These links some which are only on archive.org helped me get started in object/ route building. But new guides would be good as I think making guides more accessible "may" get more people interested into doing something for the sim. A Object building guide would be helpful. I have read the object building guide at http://bve.altervista.org/guide.html and also the Eejits guide of which I have a copy when it was available. Also possibly one for route building could be done but that would take a lot of work. But Dennis route building tutorial is available on archive.org which I have used successfully.

MattD6R

Posts : 251
Join date : 2013-06-16
Location : Brisbane, Australia

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by Dexter on Thu Feb 18, 2016 10:11 pm

Yes, the guides are a subject for the Knowledge base. we shall see what we are able to gather together.
avatar
Dexter

Posts : 1842
Join date : 2011-07-08
Age : 31
Location : Brno, Czech republic

http://www.brnobve.eu

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by Dexter on Thu Feb 25, 2016 2:34 am

The Knowledge base is now back online. I have removed the links that were no longer valid (graymac provided his assistance Smile ) and added a couple of new ones. I would need your feedback on the new route building guide I have added to my website. See it HERE, and let me know what you think.
avatar
Dexter

Posts : 1842
Join date : 2011-07-08
Age : 31
Location : Brno, Czech republic

http://www.brnobve.eu

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by phileakins on Thu Feb 25, 2016 11:53 am

Gosh - I got a mention! Smile

I've been meaning to upgrade the editor and finish it off, now I'll have to (once my course is finished in July).

Thanks D.

phileakins

Posts : 91
Join date : 2011-08-08
Age : 70
Location : Swanage, Dorset

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by MattD6R on Thu Feb 25, 2016 12:31 pm

Quite good, explains the basics needed for building a route. Some of the English is not quite right but was written well enough to understand. Using examples is good to see though taking you through making a very basic route might helpful for people to understand. But showing the basic concepts gives a good idea of what route building involves. Smile

MattD6R

Posts : 251
Join date : 2013-06-16
Location : Brisbane, Australia

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by Dexter on Thu Feb 25, 2016 5:14 pm

@Matt: You would be more than welcome to correct any discrepancies. English is not my first language. Seriously, if you see anything that could cause confusion, let me know, please.
avatar
Dexter

Posts : 1842
Join date : 2011-07-08
Age : 31
Location : Brno, Czech republic

http://www.brnobve.eu

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by MattD6R on Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:49 pm

There are only a few places where it could be improved and it not a big issue as I could understand what you were saying. But I will go through it and let you know of any English not quite right.

MattD6R

Posts : 251
Join date : 2013-06-16
Location : Brisbane, Australia

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by Dexter on Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:01 pm

thank you, that would be very helpful. I would like to avoid any confusion I could cause. Smile
avatar
Dexter

Posts : 1842
Join date : 2011-07-08
Age : 31
Location : Brno, Czech republic

http://www.brnobve.eu

Back to top Go down

Re: Portals under review.

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum